Thoughts on the Cello, and Yo Yo Ma

I’m learning to like the cello, which has a deeper and, at least to me, a more mournful mood. But not always. I guess some compositions can be happy. Last year I saw Yo Yo Ma playing Bach’s “Cello Suite #1” and liked it. Ma appeared on NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams to talk about the Silk Road Project. I enjoyed hearing about the different musicians. Brian Williams asked him what music was listed on his iPod. I was glad to see that he liked a variety of genres.

And I also liked this comment, which I discovered after a local Starbucks visit on March 20, 2009, on the back of the cup. I had a mocha latte–an extremely rare treat.

The Way I See It, #7

“What I look for in musicians is generosity. There is so much to learn from each other and about each other’s culture. Great creativity begins with tolerance.”

Yo-Yo Ma, Cellist

Here is a YouTube video from three years ago, of Ma performing “Cello Suite #1” at the Sony Music Garden. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

