Indulge Your Inner Artist, Musician, and Listener!

I first heard about Round Hill Arts Center as I researched and wrote a survey magazine article on area classes and workshops. It’s an arduous journey for me, because public transportation doesn’t go out that far in Virginia. I’d have to get a ride.

For those who can get there, Round Hill Arts Center offers an array of classes in watercolor and oil painting, drawing, jewelry making, pottery, printmaking and fiber arts, music, singing, song writing, and much more. Many courses explore the business side of creative careers. Some music classes are online.

You don’t need to be a professional to enjoy the classes. Families, teens, and children also have many opportunities to explore the arts and get better at what they love doing, including writing, drama, and art.

And for avid concert-goers, Ralph Stanley and the Clinch Mountain Boys will be appearing for the second time at Franklin Park Art Center Saturday, October 23, 2010, at 8:00 p.m. I wish I had known about this much earlier, so that I could have made arrangements. We saw him at The Birchmere a number of years ago and have always been familiar with his music. My aunt and I are also great fans of his memoir, Man of Constant Sorrow. Many other folk singers have performed in connection with RHAC, and classes are available in performing folk music. I know this isn’t strictly a classical post, but it’s another great local venue to enjoy. If you go, have a great time!

Leave a Reply

