Sketches of Spain

I enjoy jazz a lot, and “Sketches of Spain” is a favorite CD that I have by Miles Davis. The album was first recorded in 1960.

I first discovered this music at the library a few years ago, and I checked it out so often that I eventually dropped not-so-subtle hints to receive it as a birthday or Christmas gift. My aunt complied, and every once in a while, I just have to listen. My aunt really enjoys it now, too. Last year I listened to it a lot while exercising, and that’s where she picked it up. She says a lot of the music I listen to during exercise time is too calming, but sometimes it works.

On the November 9th episode of “Composer’s Datebook,” I learned about the Spanish composer Joaquin Rodrigo, whose 1940 “Concerto de Aranjuez” is a big part of Davis’ recording. It was originally written for classical guitar, and it is very pretty. It makes you feel like you are actually in Spain. I also never knew that Rodrigo became blind at age three from diptheria, and composed all his works on a braille typewriter. He died in 1999 at the age of 97. Maybe I can find a biography of him at some point.

Here’s a side-by-side comparison of Rodrigo and Davis. The latter is owned by Sony Music Entertainment, and clicking on the album cover will redirect you to the YouTube site to listen.

Leave a Reply

