A Musical Joke

Haydn was well known for having a keen sense of humor. This I know from the few biographical snippets I’ve collected about him so far. In the “Surprise Symphony,” for example, there is a lovely slow movement. Just as listeners are getting comfortable with the beauty of that section and momentary quiet, all of a sudden, the other instruments join in again–loudly. All of this wakes up the sleepy audience (and perhaps a few of the musicians as well). In another of his works, all the musicians start to leave as they finish their parts–much to the surprise of the audience. Unfortunately, I can’t remember the name of that symphony. I will have to look it up. I really should play my Haydn double CD set again.

This weekend, I got a nice surprise. A Prairie Home Companion broadcast its annual joke show–a couple of weeks earlier than I originally thought. And I was able to listen to the entire show! Some jokes I liked, but others I didn’t. Here’s a musical one:

A note walks into a bar. The bartender says, “Sorry, I can’t serve you. You’re a minor.” (Get it?)

Don’t worry; comedy will not be my next career. But I did think it was cute.

A few days ago, I ran across this cool quote in my reading:

“After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music.” — Aldous Huxley, “Music at Night”

Another new author and composer to research…

Leave a Reply

