A Musical Sign of Spring

This morning around eight I woke up to Vivaldi’s Concerto for the flute in D that I never heard before. It was called “The Goldfinch.” (Catalogued as RV 428) Here’s a recording from YouTube. I’ve never seen a real goldfinch before, and I hope I get to do so. The picture is very pretty!

The flutist was Jean-Pierre Rampal. I hope I can find that full recording one day. It was very cheery, and I felt like it was a good sign for today. I ended up not accomplishing as much as I wished, but it was still good. I’ve only ordered from Arkiv Music once several years ago (Vivaldi concerti again), but have not been able to do so since. That is Classical WETA’s music service partner.

The music also helped me remember the two thrushes who would always try to build a nest within the awning outside our old dining room window every spring. And years before that, the cardinals and robins that would build nests in our holly trees.

Leave a Reply

