The Wind and Rain

With Hurricane Irene bearing down on all the Eastern Seaboard today and tomorrow (Stay safe everyone!), this song kept running through my head. I first learned it in college, when my interest in Shakespeare exploded. “The Wind and the Rain” is featured in King Lear, Twelfth Night, and other plays–depending on how the director wants to feature music in the productions.

Here are the words:

Wind and Rain
Attributed to William Shakespeare

When that I was and a little tiny boy,
With heigh-ho, the wind and the rain,
A foolish thing was but a toy,
For the rain it raineth every day.

Chorus

With heigh-ho, the wind and the rain,
For the rain it raineth every day.

But when I came to man’s estate,
‘Gainst knaves and thieves men shut their gate.

Chorus

But when I came alas to wive,
By swaggering could I never thrive.

Chorus

But when I came unto my beds,
The toss-pots still had drunken heads.

Chorus

A great while ago, the world began,
With heigh-ho, the wind and the rain,
But that’s all one, our song is done,
And we’ll strive to please you every day.

This also gave me a new opportunity to learn about another English singer, Alfred Deller, who performs the above. Here he is performing “Greensleeves”:

Leave a Reply

