Happy Belated Halloween!!

I’m not a huge fan of Halloween, but I do have some good memories. on October 24th, our building held its annual Halloween party for everyone–including kids and grandkids. As always, it was fun seeing everyone dressed in their costumes. And yes, I did watch “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!” for the umpteenth time. The show also has a new book out about how it was created.

Here are two videos honoring that show. The first features all of the music from the program, starting with the well-known dance theme that you recognize the minute you hear it. The second is “The Great Pumpkin Waltz.” Vince Guaraldi deserves a separate essay at some point.

I don’t think there are many Halloween songs, but here is one of my favorites, “The Monster Mash.” I vaguely remember the cartoon “Groovie Goolies,” which originally ran on TV between 1970 and 1972.  This made me smile. Enjoy!

My aunt and I used to sing a couple of Halloween songs. But with the passage of time, we both forgot the exact words. The first was “Halloween, Halloween! Oh, what funny things are seen…” “The second began, “Witches on brooms…”

I can’t reproduce the tunes for these, but I hope I located the lyrics. Oh–there was also my haunted house record, but I never cared for that too much.

Funny Halloween

Hallowe’en! Hallowe’en!
Oh, what funny things are seen!
Witches‘ hats, coal black cats,
Broomstick riders, bats and rats!

Hallowe’en! Hallowe’en!
Jack-o-Lanterns light the scene.
Costumes queer, shrieks of fear,
Strangest night in all the year!

My copying and pasting went wonky for some reason. Here’s a link to “Witches on Brooms.”

 

Leave a Reply

