The 25th Anniversary of Tearing Down the Berlin Wall

President Ronald Reagan once said in a speech, “Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall!” Twenty-five years ago tomorrow, it happened–the Berlin Wall came down. Hearing the memories of journalists who were there this past week, it came as a shock to people.

I remember the news coverage and how happy people were. To me, it meant freedom. And I also remember even earlier news footage that showed people trying to escape, and I would read personal accounts in magazines. The one and only time I visited the CIA headquarters for a story, a piece of the wall was in their museum. Some of the graffiti read “And the wind cries…” Before I left for the day, I stopped by the gift shop and bought a Berlin Wall T-shirt and photos. Just mementos to remember the day. I still have these–and the clip.

Google honors the anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall in a Google Doodle.

To look back at all the Doodles, click here.

Crosby, Stills & Nash wrote the song “Chippin’ Away” to commemorate the event. Here’s the video:

 

Leave a Reply

