I Got the Sun in the Morning and the Moon at Night

Several days ago, I was watching a rerun of Hawaii Five-O.  Carol Burnett guest-starred. At the end of the show, she sang, “I’ve Got the Sun in the Morning.” I loved her rendition of it. It’s also special to me because my aunt used to sing it to me at various times when I was a kid . I think she’d still remember the melody even if she doesn’t remember the words anymore. We’d pretend we were performers at what we called “The Stardust Ballroom.” She was always the best singer–and still is, when she feels like doing it.

I couldn’t find a YouTube clip with Carol Burnett singing the song, so I found one with Doris Day’s recording of it. Incidentally, Doris Day was one of my aunt’s favorite actresses and singers when she was young. But that is best left to a separate post.

Irving Berlin wrote it. The song was made famous in the musical “Annie Get Your Gun.”

I Got The Sun In The Morning Lyrics

Taking stock of what I have and what I haven’t
What do I find?
The things I got will keep me satisfied
Checking up on what I have and what I haven’t
What do I find?
A healthy balance on the credit side
Got no diamond
Got no pearl
Still I think I’m a lucky girl
I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night
I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night
Got no mansion
Got no yacht
Still I’m happy with what I got
I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night
I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night
Sunshine
Gives me a lovely day
Moonlight
Gives me the Milky Way
Got no checkbooks
Got no banks
Still I’d like to express my thanks
I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night
I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night
And with the sun in the morning
And the moon in the evening
I’m all right
[2]
Got no mansion
Got no yacht
Still I’m happy with what I got
I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night
I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night
Got no silver
Got no gold
What I got can’t be bought or sold
I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night
I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night
Sunshine
Gives me a lovely day
Moonlight
Gives me the Milky Way
Got no checkbooks
Got no banks
Still I’d like to express my thanks
I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night
And with the sun in the morning
And the moon in the evening
I’m all right
[3]
Sunshine
Gives me a lovely day
Moonlight
Gives me the Milky Way
Got no heirlooms
For my kin
Made no will but when I cash in
I leave the sun in the morning and the moon at night
And with the sun in the morning
And the moon in the evening they’re all right
Leave a Reply

