Waltz with Me!

I like waltz music, especially those from the Strauss family, I still have my one CD and record album.

Here are four waltzes I especially enjoy from different composers.

The first is “The Skater’s Waltz, Op. 183” by Émile Waldteufel in 1882. I don’t recall this one from my childhood. I heard it on the radio this morning and thought it very pretty:

Next is “Waltz of the Flowers” by Tchaikovsky. I like the flowers and nature photos and paintings throughout this video. I first heard it on a kids’ program years ago. When I was in high school, I got my own complete recording of the ballet. I saw it onstage at Lisner Auditorium with friends, Earlier that night, we had gone to the lighting of the National Christmas Tree and concert.

“The Carousel Waltz” by Rodgers and Hammerstein. I have a collection of carousel horse music boxes, and one of them plays this tune. That’s where I first heard it.

And “Tales from the Vienna Woods” by Johann Strauss II.

“The Blue Danube” is a close second.

Here’s a montage of waltz music:

Enjoy!

https://i2.wp.com/images.clipartpanda.com/waltz-clipart-KTjeEj8Lc.jpeg

 

 

Leave a Reply

