John Coltrane — “Giant Steps”

A longtime jazz fan, I have always regretted not having any of John Coltrane‘s work in my music collection. I always promised myself that I would one day buy his album called My Favorite Things. Now I’ve promised myself another: Giant Steps. The library just got a new copy, and it seems to be very popular among patrons.

Nicknamed “Trane,” he was and still is considered to be one of the best tenor saxophonists. Coltrane’s style of jazz was bebop. Giant Steps is a recording of his own compositions. As I listened, I felt energized by the melodies, not bombarded with noise. It made me happy. By its very nature, jazz is improvisational. Just as a musician might do alternate versions of a song or melody, as Coltrane did here, listeners have to play it more than once to get the most out of a recording. Sometimes certain phrases or notes will catch your ear, and you respond differently each time.

Here are favorite compositions from Giant Steps, including the title track:

“Syeeda’s Song Flute”:

“Mr. P.C.”:

Here is the full album of My Favorite Things. But I still want to get a real CD of it at some point.

Leave a Reply

