Movies and Music

I’m reading Alfred Hitchcock: The Man Who Knew Too Much, which was published this year. Even though I’ve seen it several times, I checked out the 1956 version of the movie from the library. I also decided that I would watch the 1934 version. Hitchcock was quoted in an interview that the 1934 version was made by an amateur film maker, while the later version was made by a professional.

I like the later version a lot because James Stewart and Doris Day are in it. And it’s just a great, suspenseful story. But the main reason is that it features the song “Que Sera, Sera.” Day made it famous, and Hitchcock approved it just for the film on one hearing, and not providing any guidance to the writers. Here are some movie clips and the song, though not quite as it’s presented in the film.

As always, I feel a strong connection because my aunt sang me this song when I was a kid. I didn’t know about the film connection until much later. t bought a Doris Day CD several years ago, and that of course, is included. I used to think of it as sad, but I think it just means to take life as it comes. As we watched the film, she didn’t feel like singing, which made me feel wistful. But at least she remembered the song and watched the entire picture with me.

Leave a Reply

