Haydn Trumpet Concerto, London Symphony, and Symphony #5

I only know the barest facts about Franz Joseph Haydn: the Esterhazy family, that his students–of which Beethoven was one–called him “Papa,” and so on. I recently learned that Beethoven and Haydn didn’t get along. (But did Beethoven get along with anybody? I sure hope so. I imagine Haydn as having a sense of humor. Perhaps he will be the next musical biography on my list.

As usual, I have Classical WETA 90.9 to thank for playing Haydn fairly often. I have the “Surprise” Symphony and enjoy it. Here are my other favorites so far. First up is his trumpet concerto, performed by Wynton Marsalis:

Next up is the London Symphony. Awesome!

Last is Haydn’s Symphony #5:

 

As I’m finishing this post, I’m listening to Haydn Concertos: Il Pomo Doro by Riccardo Minasi. Very beautiful so far!

Leave a Reply

